Longlist Announced for the First Scottish Games Awards

Longlist Announced for the First Scottish Games Awards

Scottish Games Week is a sparkling celebration of the industry in Scotland, and the Scottish Games Awards ceremony is the jewel in its crown; a chance for us to showcase and reward not just the best games made in Scotland, but also the people that make those games possible, through their commitment to education and community.

After a rigorous selection process, we’re proud to announce the longlist for the awards; the 5 games and individuals in each of the 12 categories who will be facing our esteemed judging panel in the weeks to come. The panel consists of the following industry heavyweights:

  • Brian Baird – Technical Director at Bethesda Games Studios Austin
  • Joe Donnelly – Feature Writer at GamesRadar+
  • Alisdair Gunn – Director at Glasgow City Innovation District
  • Steven Hamill – COO at Scottish Edge
  • Keza MacDonald – Video Games Editor at The Guardian
  • Jim Trinca – Games journalist and video producer
  • Jo Twist – CEO of UKIE

These experts will be whittling down the longlist below into a shortlist, and finally into winners, which will be announced at the awards ceremony on Thursday the 27th of October.

But enough build up; without further ado, Scottish Games Week is proud to present the longlist for the first-ever Scottish Games Awards:

Category 1: Art and Animation

Category 2: Audio

Category 3: Best Educational Programme

  • 3D Art and Animation (Glasgow Caledonian University)
  • Games Development Programme (University of the West of Scotland)
  • Robert Burns’ Farm at Ellisland in Minecraft
  • HN Games Development (Dundee and Angus College)
  • MSc Visualisation (Glasgow School of Art)

Category 4: Best Educator

  • Daisy Abbott
  • Dr. Thomas Methven
  • Jane Draycott
  • Erin Hughes
  • Dr. Lynn Love

Category 5: Best Large-Budget Game

Category 6: Best Small-Budget Game

Category 7: Creativity

Category 8: Diversity Champion

  • Joanne Lacey
  • Searra Dodds
  • Tanya Laird
  • Lauren Aitken
  • Charly Harbord

Category 9: Lifetime Achievement

  • Colin Anderson
  • Tanya Laird
  • Stuart Martin
  • Dave Jones
  • Chris Sawyer

Category 10: Stewart Gilray Award (For Community Spirit)

  • Malath Abbas
  • Colin Macdonald
  • Colin Anderson
  • Dr. Amanda Ford
  • Paddy Burns

Category 11: Technical Achievement

Category 12: Tools and Technology

This longlist is a cross-section of the great stuff happening in Scottish games right now, and it’s one that Brian Baglow, Director of Scottish Games Week and Founder of the Scottish Games Network, is keen to highlight: “As the founder and director of the Scottish Games Network, I am lucky enough to see, on a daily basis, the incredible work being carried out in Scotland and meet the people, the pioneers and the games which are shaping the future of the games ecosystem.

“However, not every game – or person – doing this work gets the visibility they need or deserve. The Scottish Games Awards are designed to address this and showcase the people, the organisations and the games which make Scotland such a wonderful place to create, publish, teach, learn, love (or even play!) games.

“We were thrilled to get such a wide range of entries and such a high level of excellence across each of the categories. I don’t envy the judges trying to select the winners from such a superb range of entries.

“Good luck to every entrant!”

The Scottish Games Awards ceremony will take place on the 27th of October, at the Malmaison in Dundee. For more information on Scottish Games Week events, and to buy tickets, click here.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: