TIGA Awards 2013 – Open For Entries

TIGA Awards 2013 – Open For Entries

TIGA Games Awards 2013 logobackgroundThe 2013 TIGA Awards are now open for entries.  A competition which celebrates the best in creativity, technical innovation and games business within the UK.  Last year’s competition saw more than 2,000 votes cast for the Game Of The Year award.

The TIGA Awards reward achievements of everyone contributing to Britain’s games business, from the smallest developers to the largest companies.  Five of the game categories feature separate awards for small and large studios

Entry is free for members and non-members alike.

There are several Business of Games’ categories for members only, designed to recognise the work done by organisations from the wider ecosystem, from educators and tech developers to publishers and accountants.

The TIGA Games Industry 2013 glittering awards ceremony will take place on November 6, at Pinewood Studios following TIGA’s new Game Developer Conference.

The categories and eligibility are:

Games Categories:
(Free to enter, open to all, feature separate awards for small & larger studios)

  • Best Action/Adventure Game
  • Best Arcade Game
  • Best Casual Game
  • Best Social Game
  • Best Game With A Purpose

(Free to enter, open to all)

  • Best Student Game
  • Best Debut Game
  • Best Visual Design
  • Best Game Design
  • Best Audio Design
  • Most Original Game
  • Best Marketing Campaign

Business of Games Categories:
(Free to enter and open to TIGA members only)

  • Outstanding Leadership Award
  • Best Publisher
  • Best Recruitment Agency
  • Best Accountancy Firm
  • Best Legal Services Firm
  • Best QA Provider
  • Best Educational Institution
  • Best Education Initiative
  • Best Start-up
  • Best Tools & Technology
  • Best New IP

Special Awards:
(Cannot be entered into)

  • Person of the Year
  • Game of the Year (chosen by the UK development community in a public vote)

You can find all of the rules, regulations, ticket information, judges (including our very own Donnie Kerrigan of Chunk fame) and entry criteria on the official TIGA Awards website.

tiga logoDr. Richard Wilson, TIGA CEO, told us:

TIGA is the trade body for developers and digital publishers and we want to give the whole industry the chance to showcase its achievements and to applaud and encourage the next generation, from exciting start-ups to debut games and students.
There has been a big rise in the proportion of developers making games for smartphones and tablets in recent years, many of them smaller development studios. TIGA wants to ensure the achievements of these and other small studios receive the recognition they deserve, which is why five of our games award categories recognise both small and larger studios. On that note I’d like to thank BlackBerry for once again being the main sponsor for the awards. Its commitment to TIGA and the developer community is highly valuable and much appreciated.
TIGA’s success is due to the continued commitment and breadth of world class expertise from all our members. So the TIGA Awards feature the ‘Business of Games’ categories to recognise the achievements and relentless pursuit of business excellence that result from such expertise and commitment. This is a wonderful opportunity for our industry to celebrate success, in all sectors and at all levels, and I hope all games developers will consider entering.

There’s also a TIGA Awards Twitter account, or you can e-mail the awards team directly.

Now you know.  Go and enter.

One comment

  1. Pingback: TIGA Extends Awards Deadlines For Awards Entry | Scottish Games Network

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: