Entry Deadline Extended For the Scottish Games Awards 2023

Entry Deadline Extended For the Scottish Games Awards 2023

Due to overwhelming demand we have decided to extend the deadline for award submissions to the Scottish Games Awards 2023.

Entries will now remain open for the Scottish Games Awards until 18:00 on Monday 25th September 2023.

We understand the effort and dedication that goes into preparing award submissions, and we want to ensure that everyone has a fair opportunity to participate.

The awards are designed to showcase outstanding work across the entire games ecosystem including game design and development, craft categories (audio, art and animation, technical achievement, tools and technology), individual achievement (diversity champion, educator, rising star, community spirit), education and more.

Entries are encouraged from all creators from full-time developers to part-time indies, student teams or individuals working across the entire games ecosystem. Companies working outside the traditional game development space in areas such as animation, immersive media, audio, and digital design are also welcome to enter their work in eligible categories.

All entries to the Scottish Games Awards are free.


Scottish Games Awards Deadline

The 2023 awards have been expanded with the addition of two new categories – Spirit Of Scotland – which is open to games which feature Scottish culture, heritage, language, characters or landscape and the Pure Quality Award for creative impact – which is open to games which have made a significant impact beyond the commercial return and broken new ground in terms of content, audience, downloads, or general awesomeness.

This year’s competition will be judged by a panel of experts chaired by Chris Scullion, the author and veteran games journalist, and features individuals drawn from across Scotland and the UK.

The 14 categories in the 2023 Scottish Games Awards are:

  1. Small Budget Game
  2. Large Budget Game
  3. Spirit Of Scotland – NEW CATEGORY
  4. Pure Quality – NEW CATEGORY
  5. Art & Animation
  6. Technical Achievement
  7. Audio
  8. Creativity
  9. Best Tools/Tech
  10. Best Educator
  11. Diversity Champion
  12. Community Spirit (Stewart Gilray Award)
  13. Rising Star
  14. Lifetime Achievement Award

Entries can be made online, through a simple, accessible Google Form. Full eligibility criteria and entry criteria will be available on the Scottish Games Week website.


Good luck everyone!

Leave a Reply